top of page

Cape Town

This year….. (I think this part deserves a drum roll) I am going to South Africa. YAY!!! Johannesburg and Cape Town to be specific. One of my cousins are getting married in Cape Town and it just seems to be the perfect time to explore whilst I am there. I find it so surreal that I am going. The fact that am going to be away from the cold this Christmas is making me really excited. I have always wanted to go to South Africa, but it just wasn’t on the imaginary list of places I planned to go with my friends one day. I wrote early this year about my adventures in Morocco and that I have never been to any other African country apart from Ghana. So doing two African countries other than Ghana and Ghana as well this year is a lot to take in. Be prepared for visual overload!!! And a cultural review on being with my half-Ghanaian-half-South-Africans with Nigerian in-laws. This mix can’t get any better than this!

Still on Cape Town, but not related to my adventure, I stumbled across this cute yet slightly raunchy shoot (I didn’t include those images) for SS15 shot in Cape Town for Australian label Zulu & Zephyr in collaboration with South African photographer Henrik Purienne. Zulu & Zephyr and Purienne visually take us to the coast of Cape Town – where the sun is warm, the ocean is misty and the beach is vibrant. The collection also titled ‘Cape Town’ softly speaks a balance of exclusive prints spliced back with luxe basics. A palette of neutral tones form a foundation, with high intensity pops of turquoise and pink to team alongside muted taupe and sandy hues. Linen, ribbed jersey and the colours of Cape Town debut across the collection. Signature denim styles are reinvented, micro chevron returns and animal print is relived. The attention falls to functionality and ease. Relaxed fitting, loose tailoring, wrap style garments and floating silhouettes – that easy, holiday handwriting Zulu & Zephyr is renowned for. Purienne captures the raw seaside terrain, a Cape Town girl and the intrepid spirit of the brand, Zulu & Zephyr.

You can check out the rest of the collection here at Zulu & Zephyr.


ZZ_CAPETOWN_28_2

ZZ_CAPETOWN_16_2

I expect to look just as refreshed and chilled like this model when I am in Cape Town!

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page