top of page

King Bansah

In Ghana every region has a Chief. Wherever you are in Ghana, you are bound to find a Chief nearby. The Chief is like a Mayor of a suburb who governs and ensures the progression of the area. My maternal step-grandfather was a Chief and both sides of my family have royal links but it was never paraded in my household.

I have heard of good and bad stories about Chiefs in my lifetime. Of course you only want to hear the good ones and how the region and changed for the better under the leadership of a Chief. Chief Bansah is one of those good stories (well that’s what I think)! I have read some conflicting stories suggesting he is not a real Chief. That’s not really what I am addressing in this post. Whether fake or not he is doing something good for his region in a very unique way!

Togbe Ngoryifia Céphas Kosi Bansah (aka. Chief (or King) Bansah). He is the Chief of Hohoe, GBI Traditional Ghana (Volta Region, Ghana). He governs Hohoe from his base in Germany via phone and email, but also travels very frequently to Ghana. He works as a car mechanic and is also a performer. He sings, does regular TV spots, attends specials events and performs to raise money to help fund projects for his region. Besides, King Bansah‘s impressive CV, he is a brand!!! Yes a brand!!!

In 2010, the then graphic design student Julian Zimmermann of Germany decided to give King Bansah a visual identity. Zimmermann gave Chief Bansah the complete  visual package! A logo, business card, stationary, website and a royal seal to top it off. Zimmermann‘s aim was to reflect both royalty and Bansah’s role as entertainer, mixed in with the ‘exotic’ nature of an African king living in Germany.

I have always viewed the heavily jewelled and colourful attire, entourage and official residence as the visual language of a Ghanaian Chief. Something we all respect acknowledge in Ghana. But I find it funny how once the Kings are living abroad away from these elements, they appear as the ‘Average Joe’.

I remember going to Hamburg and my Uncle introducing me to his friend who is a Chief of some region in Ghana (I don’t remember). First thing I thought in my mind was  ‘Is this guy really a Chief?’. It’s not that I didn’t believe him, but there was nothing extruding his royal status. Similar to the movie Coming to America, when Prince Akeem Joffer (played by Eddie Murphy) told people that he was the Prince of Zamunda, they would laugh.

So I think giving a Chief a visual identity is absolute genius!!! Especially when it is designed well. It brings the seriousness and importance of the position without the royal attire and entourage. Zimmerman has created sleek identity with a classy aura which extrudes royalty! If I met Chief Bansah down the street and he gave me a card, I would sense the royal status from the card.

The new corporate design should underline the authenticity and lordliness of the king because they are essential for him and make his activities possible. A combination of royal and exotic impressions. One example of his engagement is his own royal beer AKOSOMBO. The benefit of the beer is passed on to the aid projects of the King in Ghana. – Deutsche & Japaner

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page