top of page

My Manifesto?

Today is my birthday and I had a bit of an epiphany. I started to ask myself the ‘life’ questions. Am I at the place where I need to be at in terms of my career and my spirituality? Am I being the best I can be? How would I define myself and is it a truthful definition? And so forth.

Then my mind diverted to an up-and-coming project I read about being run by former Pop’Africana editor Oroma Elewa.

The brief:

As a woman, it becomes imperative to have policies, rules you live your life by. As you get older, these rules change, maybe they don’t but in one way or another, you learn to adjust or stand firmer by them. You learn things you absolutely cannot compromise on like the character of the kind of man you want to share you life with, the person you’d like to become and or the kind of life you’d like to lead. In preparing for my next project which heavily involves young girls and women, I’d like to know more about us; what kinds of affinity we share and how we can better communicate. So I ask, what is your life policy?

This brief has made me think − what is my life policy?

On occasion I have subconsciously thought about my ‘life policy’, but it floats away to the back of my mind.When it’s written down, I think it’s a stronger statement and seems more truthful. So I have decided that I am going to write my manifesto. It is most likely I won’t post it, because I think it will be too personal to share.

However, I encourage our female readers to participate in Oroma’s project. If you have one or a few, join in the conversation with Oroma. If you don’t have one, let’s start writing ours!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page