top of page

Naomi Campbell: The First Lady of Fashion

I am not the biggest fan of Naomi Campbell. Yeah Yeah, call me crazy, I just don’t seem to see what everyone sees. This is probably the first Campbell shoot/campaign I have ever paid attention to. ‘Naomi Campbell: First Lady of Fashion‘ for W magazine goes on a diplomatic trip to Ghana as the First Lady of the Unites States (FLOTUS). Shot by Willy Vanderperre with Fashion Director Edward Enninful, a native of Ghana. Wearing Nina Ricci, Giorgio Armani, Prada, Dior, Proenza Schouler, Michael Kors and Azzedine AlaiaCampbell glows as FLOTUS.

The shots are elegant and apparently  Mobama-esque (Michelle Obama like) as the Telegraph puts it. I think the imagery reflects more on the Jackie O than Michelle Obama. I just wonder how Noami was able to maintain her glam and cool under the sticky Ghanaian sun.


Screen Shot 2014-03-09 at 11.12.54 pm
It’s a tribute to a modern day First Lady on a state trip, evoking the kind of timeless style that could have existed in the 1940’s, 60’s, or even today.

Screen Shot 2014-03-09 at 11.12.07 pm

SOURCE: W MAGAZINE

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page