top of page

The Premiere of Gossip Nation

Last weekend I went with friends to the premiere of Gossip Nation. The first African-Australian movie premiere screened at a major cinema in Australia. As much as I thought the preview was great, I was a bit skeptical and worried. I was skeptical only because I have seen one or two African movies which were made in Australia and they were not great! I was worried because this was a first – what if people didn’t show up?

But my concerns were surely pushed to the side when people started to float there the doors in groups during the introduction speeches by the producer, Nigerian Ambassador and Member of Parliament. Twenty minutes into the movie, the cinema was packed to the extent that people were filling up the stairs like chairs!!! From the back to the front!!!

I honestly can’t describe the movie to you. I wouldn’t even know where to begin. All I can say that it’s a MUST SEE. It’s hilarious, over the top, dramatic and full of surprises. I am saying over the top in a positive way! If an African movie is not over the top and dramatic, then it’s just not a good African movie. It probably wouldn’t be classified as an African movie! The humour just adds to the joy of the movie. And the surprises are endless!!! Let’s just say that there were parts which had my friends and I in total shock unable to close our mouths!!! I must say CONGRATULATIONS to the writer/producer Daniel Okoduwa and the director Mike Kang. What they have achieved, needs to go down in the Afro-Aussie history books!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page