top of page

This is why Abena is Black!

I read Diaspora Diaries: This is Why I’m Black by Canadian-Ghanaian writer Abena Amoako-Green and I thought I was reading about myself. Like my Identity Battle (23/07.11), Amoako-Green writes about how she answered questions about her nationality and she dealt with it.

I still have a hard time answering when people ask where I’m from.  In the moments between their question and my calculated response, I try to figure out what exactly they mean. They could mean ‘Where do you live?’, ‘Where were you raised?’, or ‘Why are you black?’  After a comment from this Zambian guy a few weeks ago, I decided it was time to make peace with this question and with people’s reactions to my response….

Read the rest of Amoako-Green’s interesting story at BlackCanadians.tumblr.com.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page