top of page

Afro-Creative: Cynthia Lawrence-John

I have sub-consciously created a new list on my mind based on inspiring women in fashion. My old list had fashion giants such as Anna Wintour, Anna Dello Russo and Grace Coddington. The old list still stands however this new list is different and hits the ‘cultural’ spot. I have mentioned this before. There is just something remarkable when you read or get to know about someone who is making it in an industry you love and there is a cultural similarity between you and the person. You can really picture yourself reaching that same kind of heights they have achieved. Thanks to the world wide web, gone are the days when I was in high-school and thought there were no Africans in the industry who I could look up to. Now there are too many that I can’t even keep up! This list is growing very fast and it’s very encouraging!

My new list has the likes of Arieta Mujay, Julia Sarr-Jamois, Lisa Folawiyo and today I have added a new name to my list.

CYNTHIA LAWRENCE-JOHN / STYLIST / FASHION DIRECTOR OF VOLT MAGAZINE / COSTUME DESIGNER / BORN IN SOUTH LONDON / NATIVE OF SIERRA LEONE /  STUDIED FILM & PHOTOGRAPHY FROM THE LONDON COLLEGE OF PRINTING / ACCIDENTALLY BECAME A STYLIST OVER 10 YEARS AGO / WORKED WITH RENOWNED BRANDS SUCH AS NIKE, ADIDAS & DIESEL / WORK HAS BEEN PUBLISHED IN i-D, DAZED & CONFUSED, INTERVIEW, GQ & OF COURSE THE VOLT.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page