top of page

Afro-Creative: Lakin Ogunbanwo

LAKIN OGUNBANWO / NIGERAN / RESIDES IN THE UK / STUDYING A POSTGRADUATE DEGREE IN LAW / STARTED PHOTOGRAPHY AS A HOBBY / INSPIRATION COMES FROM EVERYTHING TO NOTHING.

I first saw one of Lakin’s images on Black Fashion and I was impressed by the depth of it. In particular the images below. Using very little, yet bold colours and the rich contrasts. I was more amazed when I read this on his photoblog

Totally inexperienced (TOTALLY), but loving life through my camera lens…

This line reminded me of what my photography teacher used to tell me during my frustrating moments of  darkroom photography earlier this year. He used to say “it doesn’t matter how much experience you have in photography or the kind of hi-tech camera you use, you just have to go out there and have fun. You get the best results when you just go out there and have fun”. It took me virtually the whole semester to get to the stage when I would just go out and have fun photography. But I realised that is a good way of thinking when it comes to photography and I think Lakin is a prime example of that philosophy.

 SOURCE: LAKIN OGUNBANWO

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page