top of page

afro-creative: Sefa Nkansa


His work is simple, yet nicely defined with rich colour and tones with a lot of depth.

His name is SEFA NKANSA!

I started to wonder about the mind of a photographer – their process and inspiration.

Sefa Nkansa eloquently answered my curiosity by answering a few questions about his practice.

How did you get into photography?

I’ve always had a love for gadgets and contraptions although usually this meant that I would try to take them apart to figure out how they worked. Cameras were part of this ‘destructive’ repertoire until I figured out one day that I could actually get a lot more out of them if they were intact.I was given my first slr as a present for Christmas by my dad but I didn’t put that much passion into it until I was in my first year of university at which point digital technology had made it a bit more accessible.


What kind of photography do you do?

I love to shoot people and nature and usually if I can combine the two I’m more than pleased to do so. One great compromise I’ve found has been in the field of fashion photography. I love to shoot outside and play with lights – I like to mix strobes and natural light but in a way that compliments both and enhances the subject. I think that this is due to the fact that I think that all creative people should have a viewpoint/signature/voice by which you can be recognized.

In my spare time I also tend to shoot lots of abstract stuff within which I find some hidden meaning or significance. I like to think of it as a journey of discovery where each viewer can find some different meaning (usually personal) within each image.

Where do you get your inspiration from (eg. other photographers, where you live etc)?

My inspiration comes from within although as I grow older I find that the little kid within me who used to daydreams so vividly now reaches out into the world a little more each day. I find inspiration in all aspects of life; from the mundane to the spectacular. I’ll say this though, that inspiration is nothing more than a catalyst which ignites your senses and creativity. You still need some fuel of your own to burn. Plus I do get lots of inspiration from other photographers too. Every photographer does.

Do you have a set design process which you always follow when you take photos?


Yes and no. I’ll explain; I learnt a long time ago that something which makes a lot of great photographers great is the effort they put into pre-production. Essentially, you can turn up at a location and shoot something decent some of the time with no prior planning but it won’t necessarily be great. In brainstorming a concept I’d usually want to figure out what the core message the images are supposed to be communicating and then work out how all the elements involved ( location, models, lights etc) can come together to convey that message. I’ll then plan out a bunch of scenarios for what I think might work and then with the help of the client try to figure out if they feel their brief is answered. I’ll optimize that plan along the way until we have something workable and then work in a number of contingency plans because in this part of the world all kinds of stuff can happen that without good planning can shut you down. I’ll scout the location ahead just so I’m familiar with it – this also helps with generating ideas on the scene in case something should go wrong.Ahead of the shoot a mandatory gear check is vital. You won’t believe some of the things you can forget in the heat of preparation. Shooting can be easy and usually is a lot of fun, it’s your level of preparation that will make or break the deal.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page