top of page

Australia is rising

Yesterday I walked into my University newsagency with the hope of finding the Dazed and Confused June 2010 issue featuring a 32 page section on the “new South African youth culture” (source: Africa is a Country). Instead I was slapped in the face with the March issue on the stands. Despite my disappointment, I scanned through the shelves looking for something interesting.

Then I saw it……. YES I saw it! My heart must have skipped a beat. I gasped!  I had to cover my mouth with my hand to hide my excitement and look like I was yawning so the guy on the other side of the magazine stand wouldn’t think I was some crazy girl.

I was looking at ARISE magazine on the stands!

 I was so surprised at the fact that it was a current edition. In Australia we get international magazines 2-3 months after their initial release, or we are slapped with a hefty fee if the magazine is on stands during the official release period. This was not the case. The price was right! The guy who served me was even surprised by the price.

I have seen the likes of Essence and Sophisticated Black Hair magazine at selected newsagencies, but never a publication like Arise. 

This is a milestone!

I think Australia is truly catching onto the Creative Afro Wave!

I am excited for what is to come!! So now Arise is sitting comfortably on my desk. I haven’t started reading it yet. It seems too good to be true. It’s precious cargo. I don’t want to ruin it. I feel like being a drama queen and putting it in a glass cabinet – only bring it out for special occasions. Unfortunately, it’s probably going to be sitting idle on my desk for the next two weeks. I am approaching the end of my uni semester, so I am trying to finish all my assignments off and get it all out of the way. When I finish uni, Arise and I will get to know each other!




0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page