top of page

crossing over


I love the idea of African fabric used with Western styles. Traditional African designs seems to create a barrier between African and Westerners. By using Western designs, it creates a bridge for Westerners to cross into African territory. There are so many African designers today who are crossing the two cultures through their pieces – like Sika designs, Suno, Duro Olowu, Alala, Baruch and many more. Inspired by these designers, on my last trip to Ghana in 2009, I made it a mission to spend hours in the hustle and bustle of Kumasi market and find amazing prints and then find an amazing seamstress or tailor to turns my designs on paper into garments. MISSION ACCOMPLISHED!!! I must admit though, I would prefer to make the garments myself. I will one day soon!!! But here are some of the designs which were made for me.

Sorry that some of these shots aren’t the greatest, I had to cut a few people out. lol. My bad!! I just didn’t think I would be using the photos for something like this. I will take better photos next time I mix Africa with the West.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page