top of page

Handa’s Surprise

Handa’s Surprise by Eileen Brown was the first African children’s book I ever saw. I was probably about 8 and on our weekly class reading session at the school library, our librarian read this book. I was so excited because it was the first time I saw someone who resembled me in a book. I felt like Handa was my cousin in Ghana and my class was hearing her story. I borrowed the book took it home and read it over and over again. I borrowed it twice, tried a third time and wasn’t allowed. I eventually made my Dad purchase it for me.

I don’t know where the book is now − my Mum probably sent it to Ghana to my younger cousins or donated it to a library. I may never be able to find a copy of the book again, but I will never forget the feeling I got from this book. The feeling of Africa!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page