top of page

Klectic Edit: Lacey Racey

I have always wanted to go to Derby Day in Melbourne or Sydney. I am not into horse racing neither am I into betting. I just want to go and wear Ankara with a Gele and enter the Fashions on the Field competition and see if there was hope of me winning. The Fashions of the Field competition is the most prestigious outdoor fashion events in Australia. It’s a State and National competition which critiques entrants on attention to style and originality, appropriateness of the outfit for the Melbourne Cup Carnival and the individual, attention to detail with accessories and an understanding and interpretation of the current fashion trends.

The Fashion on the fields outfits are usually elegant dresses with unique and often extravagant hats. It reminds me of how Nigerians and Ghanaians wear lace and Ankara with the Gele/Duku. Since I was about 13, I have wonder how the fashion community of Australian horse racing would receive someone wearing Kaba and Slit. In recent years, I have started to think of the labels we have streaming from Africa and the Diaspora, I honestly think labels like Jewel by Lisa, Sika Designs, Stella Jean, Bridget Awosika, Duro Olowu or Sindiso Khumalo would make a good impression. Since I am not in Australia and can’t test this concept this year, I have created an edit as inspiration for what I would consider if I was going to  Derby Day. Maybe I could test this concept out at Investec Derby at Epsom Downs instead.

LaceyRacey

PAIR WITH:

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page