top of page

Morocco in Polaroids

The beauty of Polaroids. The intensity of the moment. The saturated colours. A beautiful recollection of the moment.

Polaroids were on the verge of extinction until 2010 when a team 10 former Polaroid employees (known as Impossible) saved analog instant photography by producing brand new instant films. The Impossible’s Analog Travelog features a log of Polaroids submitted by people from around the world taken in various places.

There are two contrasting travelogs about Morocco which I absolutely adore.

The first Abe Bingham who spent a couple weeks in Morocco, traveling from Tangier to Casablanca and Marrakech by train.

I found myself taking fewer “tourist” shots with it (smiling head in front of whatever famous or beautiful landmark) and more “souvenir” shots. By that I mean close-up photos of small details that can really transport me back there.

For the second travelog, Frank Zierenberg was also in Morrocco in October but took most of his polaroids in Essaouira.

Using instant photography totaly changed everything. I quickly developed the method of “one for you, one for me”. This was a perfect ice-breaker and something that somehow seemed to overcome the skepticism regarding being photographed.

Same country, different experiences, different perspectives. Different polaroids.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page