top of page

The Nigerian Nostalgia Project

My parents lived in Nigeria from the late 70s to the mid-80s for nearly a decade before they came to Australia. Virtually every week I hear a story about the good ol’ days in Nigeria either from my parents or family and friends who also lived there. I have always been fascinated with what Nigeria was like then, but unfortunately, my parents didn’t brings photos when they came to Australia.

I recently stumbled across a site which has helped visualise some of the stories I have been told. It’s called The Nigerian Nostalgia Project and it is an archive of images and videos depicting scenes and people from Nigeria between the mid-19th century and 1980. The aim of the site is to reconnect people to the ideals which were present prior to, and at the inception of, the independent Nigeria.

I think the site is a beautiful memory of what was in Nigeria and a great contrast to what is now!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page