top of page

the reality of Vogue Africa

About two weeks ago, I posted Vogue Africa (04/05/2010) featuring cover images by Mario Epanya and the enthusiasm I had towards a Vogue Africa magazine. But after reading this article  ‘VOGUE Africa? No. Thank you Very Much I’ll Pass!‘ by Uduak Oduok, I have changed my mind. Vogue Africa is probably not a good idea. In my mind I thought it would work – I didn’t think of the consequences. However, I still love Mario Epanya’s sample covers! Oduok has kicked some sense into me! After reading the article, I thought to myself, how could I be so naive. As if Vogue Africa would work! But I guess having a Vogue Africa seemed like it would fashionably level us with Vogue China, Vogue Australia and Vogue India. But we don’t need to level up with them. We need to create our own levels!

“If I have to read or hear one more person or group call for a VOGUE Africa, I will scream! I am irritated and annoyed with the seemingly inferiority complex that seems so innate among many Africans. Read my writing: Africa DOES NOT NEED A VOGUE AFRICA! Even VOGUE knows this.
Further, even more African fashion and lifestyle focused brands have emerged including Arise and Canoe Magazines offering both Western and African fashion consumers more options. Nevertheless, many Africans and African designers still feel the need for Western validation via VOGUE Africa and similar Western fashion brands, rather than wholeheartedly supporting their own with their pocket book and patronage.
Beyond the fact that Africa needs no validation from Vogue, VOGUE Africa is bad business for the continent. VOGUE Africa as the name implies, means it technically should target Africans in Africa and have its pages reflect Africa. However, if it did, it is essentially doing the same thing that other high end African fashion magazines are doing; and would effectively put them out of business. “

I wrote that “I really (do) want to work for Vogue Africa and be a part of global fashion history! I think we really need a Vogue Africa.“ I haven’t given up my dream of working for Vogue – I still want to work there! I think it would be an awesome experience for me as a designer. But I am changing my position on the issue. We don’t need Vogue! Africa now has a number of amazing publications flowing through the market. These publications are creating history – they are creating a new movement. A movement not defined by Vogue or the Western World, but a movement defined by our people! And we need to support it!

You can read the rest of the article on Ladybrille.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page