top of page

Wanderlust

It seems like going to Africa is the ‘it’ thing these days for Australian magazine publications. In December, Vogue Australia did a spread stating that ‘Fashion (had) gone Wild‘ in Africa and now Harper’s Bazaar has made the trip to our beloved continent as with their ‘Wanderlust‘ spread. I saw the spread a few days ago and before I saw the spread I read a title along the lines of ‘In the Wild’. It was a cover story on the production of Wanderlust spread. I didn’t get to read it, but my first thought was ‘Oh no! Once again a spread which portrays the wrong side of Africa!’. I was too consumed with this thoughts that I didn’t take the time to actually process the photographic spread.  Today I saw the spread  online and my thoughts changed immediately. I thought ‘Wow there is a nice story building up through this spread!’.

I am seeing a love story building up with Black Tarzan and Jane in a picturesque landscape with a tent! Illustrated beautifully in a sensual, kind of romantic and vivid light. And I love it! However based on the introduction of the spread, Harper’s Bazaar wasn’t thinking what I was thinking!

Wanderlust. Make like a runway on the African adventure of a lifetime. The bare necessities good company, a tent and a well-worn travel trunk filled with easy flowing pieces for the sultry savanna.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page