top of page

Yinka Ilori

I am planning on moving out of home next year (well relocate to London!) and in preparation, I have become obsessed with home furnishings. I decided that I want African statement pieces. ‘It’ items which have contemporary elements of Africa. In the midst of my furniture obsession, I was searching online and I was reacquainted with the work of upcycled furniture designer Yinka Ilori. I first saw Ilori‘s work sometime last year on Afri-Love and fell in love for the simplicity of his pieces, his upcycling process and injection of Africa in some of his pieces.

Hailing from North London, Yinka Ilori reworks unloved furniture and transforms them into fresh pieces adding anything from herringbone tweeds to Dutch wax. Ilori aims to challenge perceptions of waste through the regeneration and revitalisation of every-day furniture, where every piece deserves the chance to be loved again.

I see Ilori‘s work as art more than furniture. A must have art piece for the home. If I purchased one of Ilori‘s pieces, no one would be using it! For example  if it’s a chair, it would sit in the middle my living room and anyone who came to visit me could walk around it like it’s at an exhibition! Slight exaggeration, but as I said Ilori does not just make furniture!



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page