top of page

afro-creative: Eyiram Dokli


artists’ intent

I knew, that in order to claim an identity, I needed to explore. To explore that distinguishing aspect that would allow me to make an authentic claim upon an identity. As a child amongst the ranks of the modern African Diaspora I knew that the distinguishing factor I desired was my culture, my African tradition.


‘to understand ones present and discover ones future we need not look forward but rather back to our ancestry, forefathers and forbearers. For to know ones history is to ensure that the mistakes of it will never be repeated and its legacy never depleted’ 

What I discovered was an age long, sacred and oral tradition that encompassed sacred cloth and proverbs, rich minerals and tales, rhythmic song and dance and cryptic arts and symbols. At the heart of my search I discovered the sustaining force of Africa, the livelihood of this continent; the divider that gave each class its respected ranks in society, this rich commodity was gold. And instantaneously my mind was taken back to the process of alchemy, a medieval chemical philosophy having as its asserted aims the ability to transmute base metals into gold. There seemed no better way to communicate this awakening of identity but through the process of alchemy where by my basic understanding of Africa is transformed into rich and profound wisdoms just as base elements are changed into precious gold.

Just as the attaining of knowledge of this one commodity (gold) seemed to transform my own meager understanding of Africa into profound wisdoms, so each piece of my major work stands as a visual transmutation of Africa’s oral tradition and ancestral wisdoms.

To this end I present to you my collection of works; ‘Alchemy’.

– Eyiram Dokli

I am not sure if I should add onto this. Eyiram has it all down packed!!!

I am truly amazed by her illustration skill. It is so detailed and refined. They seem as precious as the treasured family photos. When I look at her illustrations, I sense her whole being going into them especially when she draws inspiration from her Ghanaian/African culture.

Eyiram was born in Ghana. Left for England before she was one and then came to Australia around the age of four. She has never been back to Ghana. And I think this body of work must have turned into a visual history lesson for her. It takes me back to when I did my major work on Ghana and my association with the culture. I had been to Ghana before I started the work, and it put me a new kind of realm. It made me aware of how prominent the Ghanaian culture was in my life.

I feel as if Eyiram reached some kind of turning point. The work has made her more aware of what culture is about and what it means to her. Even though she is far from the roots of it, elements are constantly around her which has helped her understand the culture and execute it visually.

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page