top of page

Asa and Fefe in Sydney

It’s always the biggest surprise to hear an African artist you listen to, based on the opposite side of the globe is touring your country, but more so when you live down under. It just seems like no one comes here. One of my favourite African artists, Nigerian songstress Asa came to Australia last week (17.01.12) for the Sydney festival. Along with her was fellow Nigerian artist Fefe. To put it simply, the show was amazing.

I first discovered Asa in the madness of end of semester uni exams. Her music was like chamomile tea to the scattered mind, a soothing getaway.

One of the many qualities to strike me about Asa was how beautiful she made her Nigerian dialect Yoruba, sound.

She gave a stellar performance and was so distinctly African. My only let down was that I did not hear her sing my favourite song, ‘Bibanke.’

I had never heard of Fefe before the show, and I must admit it took me a while to get into his performance but by the end of the night he had the entire audience, including myself, jumping all over the joint.



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page