top of page

cards for women of colour

The SweetDesignStudio is celebrating woman of color, style and individuality by creating eye-catching bespoke fashion greeting cards, which capture the essence of femininity and fun. All the designs are handmade using a variety of mixed media such as sequins, paper collages and cotton strings.






I like how some of the patterns in the outfits have African traces in them. For example the jumpsuit with the red and blue squares looks like Kente. The image with the black squares reminds me of a dress which was made for my mother in Ghana. I called it the ‘Fish Tail Dress’. I think my Mum wore it once, she thought it was too eccentric. It had the same kind of flaps as the dress above. However I think the dress above looks alot better than the one my Mum had. The geometric pattern from pink/black jumpsuit as well as the yellow/purple one look like they were inspired from wax block print. 

For my 19th or 18th birthday one of my best friends got me a cute card. My friend is from Ghana and I have known her since I was about 7 years old. The card she gave me, featured two female toddlers playing together. I remember her writing in the card or telling me, she really wanted to find two black girls together to signify our friendship and of course she couldn’t find that, so she had to settle for two Anglo toddlers instead.

With the SweetDesignStudio collection of cards, I won’t have to worry for settling when I am buying cards for my friends of colour. These cards truly represent the kind of friends I have – fun, individuals with their own unique style!!!

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page