top of page

gocaa


The Gallery of Contemporary African Art (GOCAA) is the an online gallery which aims to educate and expose the superb work of African artists to the world. All the artists showcased in the gallery all reside in Africa. I think this is a fantastic platform for African artists to get themselves out there. I have been searching for a place like this for ages. A gallery of contemporary and not traditional African Art. Art from the new generation of African creatives! The works on GOCAA are unique and diverse. I am loving all the artists in the gallery. But I am especially loving Beatrice W. Njoroge, who’s work is a “psychological look into everyday life and its relative resemblance to people everywhere around the globe”. She draws inspiration from her social and political environment. Her work is quite abstract with combination of text, layering, a flood of colours and painting. The work has a real kind of depth and meaning to it. When I first saw them, I thought this artist must have had a really strong thought process when working. I read her intent and that confirmed my thoughts. Beatrice’s work is beyond the canvas surface, it’s very dimensional with layers of different meanings. I think her style is quite neo-expressionist like Jean-Michel Baquiat. I LIKE!

For all those African artists and African art lovers out there, I suggest you check out GOCAA.


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page