top of page

Losing You

Solange Knowles’ new music video ‘Losing You‘ is a beautifully crafted visual rollercoaster shot in South Africa directed by Melina Matsoukas. Solange is a colourful canvas rocking Suno, Kenzo, DVF, and J. Crew.

The video just looks like a lot of fun and I think the heart and soul of this video is not Solange, but the flamboyant Le Sapeurs of the Congo. Their energy is electric, their style is colourfully sharp and their movements pop, bringing an amazing lively vibe to the video.

Solange has lost me with the song. I don’t think I like it, but because I am so in love with the video my love is clouding my judgement!

Check out The Fader’s interview with Solange which goes into depth about the conceptualization and experience of the video.

When Melina and I decided to film ‘Losing You’ in South Africa, we really didn’t have a real firm concept in place. It was sort of a grab a camera and let’s go moment. I knew I wanted to capture a couple things: the vibe of our friendship and all of the crazy escapades we’ve gotten ourselves into all over the world, and the abstract and elegant Le Sape Society (Society for the Advancement of People of Elegance).

– Solange


PHOTOGRAPHY BY: DANIELE TAMAGNI SOURCE: RAP-UP & THE YBF

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page