top of page

My Sweetie

I have become a big fan of American born Nigerian rapper Wale. I have a few of his mixtapes and his latest album ‘Attention Deficit’. My favourite songs W.A.L.E.D.A.N.C.E, Diary with Marsha Ambrosius, World Tour with Jazmine Sullivan and many more. But there are two songs which kind of make me go all soft inside. The first song is ‘My Sweetie’. It’s not soppy love song, but it’s approach Wale has taken with the song. It’s carries the bouncy tunes of hiplife and the heavy African accent in the chorus. And the video clip …….. It’s like you’re at an African house party. Everyone is dancing in every corner of the house!!


The other song is Wale’s rendition of American born Nigerian rapper Naeto C‘s ‘Kini Big Deal’.

When I first started listening to Wale, I thought to myself, I wonder if he will ever release something on the Hiplife side. I guess he answered my thoughts!

Everytime I hear either of these songs, I break out in dance. Unfortunately Wale’s ‘Kini Big Deal’ doesn’t go for that long!


But you can at least bounce to the original for a good 4 minutes and a bit!!


0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page