top of page

The Piano Guys

I love hearing renditions to songs that I love. I see renditions as a personal interpretation of the song by a musician. It gives the song a different mood whether good or bad and gives me a different angle to the song. So when I watched the rendition of Coldplay’s ‘Paradise‘ by Piano Boys featuring Alex Boye on YouTube, I was blown away.

The Piano Guys are a classically trained duo, piano player Jon Schmidt and Cello player Steven Sharp. They create and remix unique instrumentals teamed up with amazing visuals for their YouTube channel.

The arrangement of Paradise emerged from a moment of writer’s block. As a whim, they decided to take an African approach and contacted the uber-talented Alex Boyé. The result is a fiery and soothing combination with emotive vocals by Boyé in three different languages – Swahili, English and Yoruba (Four languages if you what to include Alex’s own scat), the heaviness of the piano and cello of of the cello



0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page