top of page

time for Africa

Finally FIFA has an official song for the 2010 South Africa World Cup. It’s titled ‘This Time for Africa (Waka Waka)‘. The title sounds relevant, so that’s a good start. But I have an issue with it . . . It’s sung by Shakira with the South African band Freshlyground.

I have nothing against Shakira . . . BUT WHY?

Why couldn’t they get someone like Angélique Kidjo (Benin), the Watoto Children’s Choir (Uganda),  Nneka (Nigeria), or Mokobe (Mali), or even Sarkodie (Ghana) just someone AFRICAN. FIFA could have called me to sing the song. I am totally exaggerating here, but I think you get my point. Either one of these people mentioned could have sung with Freshlyground whose members are from Mozambique, South Africa and Zimbabwe. It could have be an amazing Afro-collaboration boasting unity and diversity. What would have been better . . . . Freshlyground could have sung the whole song. The lead singer Zolani Mohola has an AMAZING voice.

Have a listen for yourself. I love this song!

FIFA could have even endorsed a African singing contest to choose a singer suitable to sing the song with Freshlyground. This would have been a perfect time for Africa to show off the musical talent floating around. I think there are many more directions FIFA could have followed rather than using Shakira.

Here is the song I have been venting on about.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page